Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

Lagen
Riesling im Herzen
Weinberge‘Do you have Riesling?’ featured as a title in an American wine magazine in 2005. Our answer is a resounding ‘yes’. Riesling is in our heart. The climate along the Mosel is the optimum one for the Riesling vine. Like people from the Mosel (ourselves included) the Riesling vine prefers warmth and sun – with cool nights for the aroma, from April to November.

And the preconditions for this could not be better at Piesport’s premium location. Thanks to their southern orientation, the vines receive a maximum of sun. What is more, our vineyards’ slate soil stores the sun’s warmth by day and releases it by night. The forest area above the vineyards ensures the grapes don’t become too dry. In spring it protects them from the frosty air of the Eifel volcanic plateau and in dry periods it acts as a natural water reservoir. That is why there has been no need for artificial irrigation even in extreme years such as 2003.

The top locations in Piesport are the Goldtröpfchen and Piesporter Domherr, followed by the Piesporter Falkenberg. Our Piesport Riesling is based on the vineyard locations of Grafenberg and Günterslay, which are always bottled as top-quality wine.

Our fruity-fresh dry Rivaner Trocken RH.1 and our full-bodied red wine Bio Rotwein RH.rot round off our portfolio of wines.

Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

Lagen
Riesling im Herzen
WeinbergeHaben Sie Riesling? titelte 2005 eine amerikanische Weinzeitschrift. Diese Frage können wir mit einem eindeutigen „Ja“ beantworten. Riesling ist unsere Herzensangelegenheit. Das Klima an der Mosel ist optimal für die Rieslingrebe. Sie mag es wie wir Moselaner am liebsten warm und sonnig - mit kühlen Nächten fürs Aroma, von April bis November.

Dafür gibt es in der besten Lage Piesports optimale Vorraussetzungen: Durch die Südhänge bekommen die Reben ein Maximum an Sonne. Der Schieferboden unserer Weinberge speichert zudem Sonnenwärme am Tag und strahlt sie nachts wieder ab. Dass es den Trauben nicht zu trocken wird, dafür sorgt der Wald über den Weinbergen. Er fungiert im Frühjahr als Schutz vor frostiger Luft aus der Eifel und in Trockenzeiten als natürlicher Wasserspeicher. Deshalb war auch in extremen Jahren wie 2003 keine künstliche Bewässerung erforderlich.

Die Toplage Piesports ist das Goldtröpfchen und der Piesporter Domherr, gefolgt vom Piesporter Falkenberg. Unser Piesporter Riesling beinhaltet die Weinlagen Treppchen, Grafenberg und Günterslay, die immer als Qualitätswein auf hohem Niveau abgefüllt werden.

Unser fruchtig-frischer Rivaner Trocken RH.1 und unser vollmundiger Bio Rotwein RH.rot runden unser Weinangebot ab.